Faculty Directory

Satish Tripathi

UB President; Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

University at Buffalo

501 Capen Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2901

Email: president@buffalo.edu

Venu Govindaraju

Vice President for Research and Economic Development; Founding Director, Center for Unified Biometrics and Sensors (CUBS); Associate Director, Center of Excellence for Document Analysis and Recognition (CEDAR); SUNY Distinguished Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

516 Capen Hall, 113 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3321, (716) 645-1558

Email: venu@cubs.buffalo.edu

Shambhu Upadhyaya

Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education; Director, Center of Excellence in Information Systems Assurance Research and Education (CEISARE); Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

329 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3183

Email: shambhu@buffalo.edu

Chunming Qiao

Department Chair; SUNY Distinguished Professor; Adjunct Professor of Electrical Engineering

Computer Science and Engineering

312 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4751

Email: qiao@buffalo.edu

Carl Alphonce

Co-Director of Undergraduate Studies; Teaching Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

343 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4739

Email: alphonce@buffalo.edu

Ethan Blanton

Adjunct Teaching Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

303 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4766

Email: eblanton@buffalo.edu

Marina Blanton

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

333 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3180

Email: mblanton@buffalo.edu

Varun Chandola

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

304 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4747

Email: chandola@buffalo.edu

Vipin Chaudhary

Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

305 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4740

Email: vipin@buffalo.edu

Chang Wen Chen

Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

316 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4760

Email: chencw@buffalo.edu

Changyou Chen

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338L Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4750

Email: changyou@buffalo.edu

Jan Chomicki

Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338I Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4735

Email: chomicki@buffalo.edu

Karthik Dantu

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

106 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2670

Email: kdantu@buffalo.edu

Murat Demirbas

Director of Graduate Studies; Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

313 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4753

Email: demirbas@buffalo.edu

Wen Dong

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

306 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1589

Email: wendong@buffalo.edu

Marco Gaboardi

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338B Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1595

Email: gaboardi@buffalo.edu

Jing Gao

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

350 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1586

Email: jing@buffalo.edu

Mingchen Gao

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

347 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2834

Email: mgao8@buffalo.edu

Jesse Hartloff

Teaching Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

344 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4729

Email: hartloff@buffalo.edu

Xin (Roger) He

Director of Graduate Admissions; Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

318 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4741

Email: xinhe@buffalo.edu

Matthew Hertz

Teaching Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

352 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4736

Email: mhertz@buffalo.edu

Andrew Hughes

Teaching Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

348 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3180

Email: ahughes6@buffalo.edu

Alan Hunt

Professor of Practice

Computer Science and Engineering

354 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3184

Email: ahunt@buffalo.edu

Bharat Jayaraman

Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338G Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4755

Email: bharat@buffalo.edu

Kevin R. Keane

Adjunct Teaching Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

303 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4766

Email: krkeane@buffalo.edu

Oliver Kennedy

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338H Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1597

Email: okennedy@buffalo.edu

Matthew Knepley

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

334 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-XXXX

Email: knepley@buffalo.edu

Steve Ko

Interim Co-Director of Undergraduate Studies; Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

113F Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4732

Email: stevko@buffalo.edu

Tevfik Kosar

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338J Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2323

Email: tkosar@buffalo.edu

Dimitrios Koutsonikolas

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

311 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4733

Email: dimitrio@buffalo.edu

Kevin Kwiat

Adjunct Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

Shi Li

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

328 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1590

Email: shil@buffalo.edu

Marianthi Markatou

Associate Chair for Research and Healthcare Informatics; Assistant Director, Institute for Health Care Informatics; Professor; Adjunct Professor, Computer Science and Engineering

Biostatistics

726 Kimball Tower

Phone: (716) 829-2894

Email: markatou@buffalo.edu

Russ Miller

UB Distinguished Professor; Adjunct Professor of Electrical Engineering; Adjunct Professor of Structural Biology; Senior Research Scientist at the Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Institute

Computer Science and Engineering

338F Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4737

Email: miller@buffalo.edu

Nils Napp

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

332 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4754

Email: nnapp@buffalo.edu

Hung Ngo

Adjunct Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

Bina Ramamurthy

Teaching Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

345 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3182

Email: bina@buffalo.edu

Ken Regan

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

326 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4738

Email: regan@buffalo.edu

Kui Ren

Professor, SUNY Empire Innovation

Computer Science and Engineering

317 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1587

Email: kuiren@buffalo.edu

Atri Rudra

Interim Associate Department Chair; Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

319 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2464

Email: atri@buffalo.edu

A. Erdem Sariyuce

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

323 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1592

Email: erdem@buffalo.edu

James Scandale

Adjunct Teaching Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

303 Davis Hall

Email: scandale@buffalo.edu

Kris Schindler

Teaching Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

346 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3185

Email: kds@buffalo.edu

Barry Smith

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Philosophy; Director, National Center for Ontological Research; Adjunct Professor of Biomedical Informatics; Adjunct Professor of Computer Science; Adjunct Professor of Neurology

Philosophy

126 Park Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2444

Email: phismith@buffalo.edu

Ramalingam Sridhar

Associate Professor; Adjunct Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering

Computer Science and Engineering

338K Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3186

Email: rsridhar@buffalo.edu

Rohini Srihari

Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338D Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1602

Email: rohini@buffalo.edu

Sargur (Hari) N. Srihari

Founding Director, Center of Excellence for Document Analysis and Recognition (CEDAR); SUNY Distinguished Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338C Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-6162

Email: srihari@cedar.buffalo.edu

Lu Su

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

321 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1588

Email: lusu@buffalo.edu

Yijun Sun

Assistant Professor; Adjunct Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Microbiology and Immunology

B2-146 Center of Excellence Building

Phone: (716) 881-1374

Email: yijunsun@buffalo.edu

Zhi Sun

Assistant Professor; Adjunct Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Electrical Engineering

218 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1608

Email: zhisun@buffalo.edu

Jennifer Winikus

Teaching Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

351 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4739

Email: jwinikus@buffalo.edu

Jinhui Xu

Associate Department Chair; Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

315 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4734

Email: jinhui@buffalo.edu

Wenyao Xu

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

330 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4748

Email: wenyaoxu@buffalo.edu

Aidong Zhang

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

349 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4769

Email: azhang@buffalo.edu

Lukasz (Luke) Ziarek

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338E Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1596

Email: lziarek@buffalo.edu

Jaroslaw (Jaric) Zola

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

335 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3187

Email: jzola@buffalo.edu