Junsong Yuan, an associate professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, has been named a Fellow of the International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR). The award recognizes his contribution to “human action and gesture analysis” in the field.


Five faculty from SEAS were among the eighteen UB researchers and teachers that have been named recipients of the university’s 2018 Exceptional Scholar and Teaching Innovation awards.


Kui Ren and Terri Nusstein from the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences have been named recipients of the 2018 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence.


Aidong Zhang, a SUNY Distinguished Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, is one of 54 computer scientists named a 2017 Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Zhang is being recognized for her contributions to bioinformatics and data mining.

Swetank Kumar Saha (PhD Candidate '18) has won a trio of networking awards this October, all based on his work associated with the NSF CAREER and CRI-funded Millimeter Wave Networking Project.

Alumni, corporate partners, and students were recognized for their achievements during the Fourth Annual SEAS Awards Night on Oct. 5, 2017.

UB senior Devashish Agarwal (CS BS Candidate '18) was the student nominee selected from the four SUNY University Centers to receive the Association of Council Members and College Trustees (ACT) of the State University of New York Excellence and Student Initiative Scholarship.  Devashish received the award—a $1,000 scholarship with an additional $250 given in his name to the charity of his choice—at a September 16 ceremony as part of ACT’s annual conference in Albany, New York.

Kui Ren, a professor in UB’s Department of Computer Science and Engineering, was named a SUNY Empire Innovation Scholar for his pioneering work on attacks and privacy issues in cloud computing systems, smartphone based systems and other cyber physical systems such as 3D printing systems.


Five University at Buffalo students took second place in the 2017 International Hardware Design Contest, held at the ACM/IEEE Design Automation Conference (DAC) in Austin, Texas this past month.


The award honors outstanding CSTEP research mentors who have been involved in mentoring, supervising and advising undergraduate researchers, and have impacted students’ academic and professional careers.