Awards and Innovations

Awards and Innovations by Year

A summary of recent awards, innovations and other accomplishments from the UB MAE community.


  • The 2020 Stanford University ranking named Professor Deborah D.L. Chung as No. 1 in the world in the Building and Construction field.
  • Professor Tarunraj Singh recieved the Yasundo Takahashi Education Award from the Dynamic Systems & Control Division of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).
  • John Crassidis, Samuel P. Capen Chair Professor and SUNY Distinguished Professor, has received the 2021 American Astronautical Society (AAS) Dirk Brouwer Award, recognizing contributions to spacecraft attitude dynamics, sensor modeling, and optimal estimation.
  • Associate Professor James Chen has been named an Associate Fellow by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
  • Co-authors Souma Chowdhury (associate professor - MAE), Ehsan Esfahani (associate professor - MAE), Kartik Dantu (associate professor - CSE), and Payam Ghassemi (PhD student - MAE) received the 2021 IEEE MRS Conference Best Paper Award for "Learning Robot Swarm Tactics over Complex Adversarial Environments, International Symposium on Multi-Robot and Multi-Agent Systems."
  • Professor Deborah D.L. Chung recently published a book titled "Functional Materials: Electrical, Dielectric, Electromagnetic, Optical and Magnetic Applications."
  • Professor Tarun Singh has been named the recipient of the ASME Dynamics Systems and Control Division (DSCD) 2021 Yasundo Takahashi Education Award.
  • PhD student Yong Hu received the Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-Financed Students Abroad, the highest award given by the Chinese government to students studying outside of China. Hu is advised by Professor Shenqiang Ren.
  • PhD student Yong Hu, who is advised by Professor Shenqiang Ren, received Materials Research Society Graduate Student Silver award for academic excellence and distinction.
  • Assistant Professor Jun Liu received a Young Scientist Award from the journal Mircosystems and Nanoengineering.
  • A paper authored by Associate Professor Mostafa Nouh and PhD students M. Ali Attarzaheh and Jesse Callanan on nonreciprocal acoustic waves received the 2021 Best Paper Award in Mechanics and Materials Systems by the Adaptive Structures and Materials Systems (ASME) branch of ASME.
  • Associate Professor Mostafa Nouh received the 2021 Research Mentor of the Year Award from the Collegiate Science and Technology Entry Program (CSTEP).
  • Four students recieved awards from the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences:
    • Jesse Callanan (PhD, aerospace engineering) - Dean's Graduate Achievement Award
    • Krista Beranger (BS, mechanical engineering; minor, human factors and ergonomics engineering) - Dean's Undergraduate Achievement Award
    • Nicholas Deitrich (BS, aerospace engineering) - Dean's Undergraduate Achievement Award
    • Alexandra Nordmann (BS, mechanical engineering) - Dean's Undergraduate Achievement Award
  • Associate Professor James Chen has been selected for the 2021 Rising Star Award by the Electrostatics Society of America.
  • Matt Burge, assistant professor of teaching, received the 2020-2021 Vanderhoef Faculty Award.
  • Professor Deborah D.L. Chung was recently ranked by Stanford University as the 14th best material scientist worldwide.
  • Alumnus Dexter Johnson, NASA Technical Fellow for Loads and Dynamics, received the UB President’s Medal in recognition of extraordinary service to the university.
  • Aerospace engineering undergraduate student Nick Deitrich won the 2021 American Society of Mechanical Engineers Old Guard Competition and will advance to the international competition.
  • Assistant Professor Minghui Zheng has won a 2021 Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award from the National Science Foundation.
  • Amy Faville, BS '21 Mechanical Engineering, was selected to deliver the student address in the 2021 SEAS Undergraduate Commencement Ceremony.
  • Assistant Professor Souma Chowdhury is being recognized for his impactful research with a National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER award.
  • Anoop Kiran, an aerospace engineering student, has been named a recipient of the Barry Goldwater Scholarship, the most prestigious and competitive research scholarship offered for undergraduate STEM students.
  • Students Mirka Arevalo, Sreeya Guha, Ojonugwa Marv Ibrahim, Gabrielle Reed, Myanah Pierre-Louis and Sauravpunit Sidhu, all from the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, earned the People's Choice award in the Henry A. Panasci Jr. Technology Entrepreneurship Competition.
  • Professor Paul DesJardin has been elected Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
  • Dexter Johnson (PhD ’95, MS ’89 mechanical, BS ’87 aerospace) was recognized by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics as the winner of their 2021 Diversity and Inclusion Award.
  • Dennis Elsenbeck (ME '96 mechanical), an expert in the energy field, has been included on City & State’s Energy & Environment Power 100 list.