Faculty Awards and Honors

UB CBE professor Gang Wu has been selected as a 2019-2020 recipient of UB's Exceptional Scholar - Sustained Achievement award.

SUNY Distinguished Professor, Stelios T. Andreadis was awarded $2.4M R01 grant from the National Heart and Blood Institute of the National Institutes of Health to investigate the role of the immune system in successful implantation of tissue engineered vascular grafts that were developed in his laboratory.

Associate Professor Johannes Hachmann has been selected to receive the SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching.
Amit Goyal has been named a SUNY Distinguished Professor, the highest faculty rank in the SUNY system.

UB Distinguished Professor Paschalis Alexandridis has been elected fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), an honor given to those who have made a great impact in fields of the chemical sciences.

Congratulations to Gang Wu on his promotion to the rank of Full Professor. 
Congratulations to Chong Cheng on his promotion to the rank of Full Professor. 

Associate Professor Haiqing Lin was elected board member of the North American Membrane Society (NAMS). He will serve the term of 2020-2023. 


Professor Sriram Neelamegham was elected fellow of the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES), an honor given to the most accomplished leaders in the BME field.


Stelios Andreadis, SUNY Distinguished Professor delivered a plenary lecture representing Division 15D/E (Engineering Fundamentals in Life Sciences) at the American Institute of Chemical Engineers annual meeting in Orlando, Florida.


Mark Swihart has been elected a fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) in recognition of his contributions to chemical engineering research. 


Assistant Professsor Elina Kyriakidou has been awarded a $1.2 million grant from U.S. DOE-NREL for low temperature CH4 conversion by developing a novel aftertreatment system for future natural gas vehicles using palladium-based catalysts.


Gang Wu has been ranked by Clarivate Analytics as a Highly Cited Researcher in Web of Science. 


The newly-established Department of Engineering Education seeks to study and implement new strategies for scaling and translation of engineering education research findings into widespread classroom practice.


Gang Wu has received an award from the National Science Foundation for his " Designing Nitrogen Coordinated Single Atomic Metal Electrocatalysts for Selective CO₂ Reduction to CO" project.


Johannes Hachmann has received an NSF award with the "Spokes: MEDIUM: NORTHEAST: Collaborative: Advancing a Data-Driven Discovery and Rational Design Paradigm in Chemistry." project.


Professor Sriram Neelamegham received the 2018 Schoellkopf Medal in recognition of his work in the areas of vascular bioengineering and glycoengineering. 


Congratulations to Stelios Andreadis on his promotion to SUNY Distinguished Professor which recognizes his many contributions to UB, to SUNY, and CBE.


Tamara G. Kofke has made long-term and exemplary contributions to the teaching and service missions of UB CBE's undergraduate student program.


Carl Lund was awarded the 2018 Outstanding Teacher Award from the St. Lawrence Section of the American Society for Engineering Education.


Goyal is an internationally recognized materials scientist, Empire Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, and director of the University at Buffalo’s RENEW Institute.


Johannes Hachmann has been awarded the NSF CAREER award for his project, entitled "Building an Advanced Cyberinfrastructure for the Data-Driven Design of Chemical Systems and the Exploration of Chemical Space".