Agarwal receives 2017 ACT scholarship

Devashish Agarwal received an ACT scholarship from SUNY.

2017 ACT recipient Devashish Agarwal with Pam Heilman, UB Council Member and member of ACT

by Whitney Singleton

Published November 2, 2017

Devashish Agarwal, a senior computer science major with a minor in management at the University at Buffalo, was one of four SUNY students to receive a 2017 Association of College Council Members and College Trustees (ACT) scholarship.

The ACT scholarship, offered by SUNY, recognizes students for excellence in their academic performance and extraordinary commitment to their campus and/or community. Students are nominated by their campuses based on their academic excellence and their active participation in community service.

Agarwal, an international student from Agra, India, serves as president of the Honors Student Council, vice president of the UB Undergraduate Consulting Club, chairman of the Undergraduate Student Senate and vice chair of the Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) Student Advisory Board. 

“As an international student, I am not eligible for many scholarships and awards. When I learned that I was the one applicant selected to move forward from the University at Buffalo and then to find out that I received the award, I was very humbled. I am thankful for the opportunity,” said Agarwal.

When asked about his major in CSE and minor in management, Agarwal shared, “I like the feeling of having the best of both worlds and after having a few internships in companies like HP and Deloitte, I have started to see the overlap and immense need for the hard technical skills that computer science provides and the soft communication skills that management provides.”

After graduation, Agarwal plans to join Deloitte as a Cyber Risk Consultant.

“You can make the most out of your experience at UB if you’re open to new experiences. UB is a huge university with unlimited resources,” said Agarwal.

The scholarship was presented during the 47th Association of College Council Members and College Trustees Annual Meeing, which  took place on September 16, 2017 at the Renaissance Hotel in Albany, New York.