Our Students, Faculty and Alumni

Members of the UB MAE family continue to thrive in their innovative research and professional endeavors. 

Undergraduate Students

Graduate Students

  • Hamlet Spencer.
    Hamlet Spencer

    “The faculty members are amazing. They really go that extra mile to make sure you understand and are comfortable with the material.” Hamlet Spencer, MS Student, Mechanical Engineering

  • Rosa Abnous.
    Rosa Abnous

    "When I was applying for graduate schools, UB was my first choice because, it has great varieties of demanding research areas. I am very happy to pursue my PhD in UB because it gives me the opportunity to make a strong background, a great support from my advisor and a pleasant working environment." Rosa Abnous, PhD candidate, Mechanical Engineering

  • M.h (Hooman) Ansari.
    M.h (Hooman) Ansari

    "What I really like about UB is the diversity among its students and faculty members. UB has many student clubs for students to join and do what they are passionate about." M.h (Hooman) Ansari, PhD candidate, Mechanical Engineering

  • phil holding a check he received as an award winner at 3mt competition.
    Philip Odonkor

    “Perhaps MAE’s best-kept secret, the services offered through TA office hours have been of tremendous help to me throughout my graduate school career. It is amazing how big of a difference TA’s make in improving the learning experience. It is almost like having a personal tutor at your service, but for free.” Philip Odonkor, PhD student in Mechanical Engineering.


  • 7/24/17

    Dr. John Crassidis received the President Emeritus and Mrs. Meyerson Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring Award.

  • 10/31/17

    Dr. Behdad won the Best Paper Award for the ASME Design for Manufacturing and the Lifecycle Conference

  • 7/24/17

    Dr. Joseph Mollendorf named SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor.

  • 7/24/17

    Dr. Tarunraj Singh receives NAGS Outstanding Teaching Award at the Master's Level.

  • 10/31/17

    Dr. Lewis was awarded the ASME Design Automation Award and the UB Award for Sustained Achievement

  • 2/12/18

    Dr. Meng has been elected as a Fellow of ASME

  • 10/31/17

    Dr. Rai was awarded the ASME Computers in Engineering Young Investigator Award


  • 7/24/17

    Marcus Yam BS '07 was among the staff of the Seattle Times to win a 2015 Pulitzer Prize in the category of breaking news coverage. Yam was the only photographer on duty when reports of the devastating landslide in Oso, Washington surfaced on the morning of March 22, 2014. 

  • 7/24/17

    Allison Carr O'Connor '88 is the Business Unit Operations Manager in charge of technical operational projects at Moog. She is on the Board of Directors for the Niagara Aerospace Museum and currently is the Vice President. She is an active member of AIAA and was just recently awarded the AIAA Fellowship status. 

  • 7/24/17

    Mike Pelino, '12, self-proclaimed gear head, scored a big win when driver Kyle Busch took home Toyota's first NASCAR Sprint Cup with an engine Pelino helped design.

  • 7/24/17

    Dr. Lesley Weitz '02 is a lead simulation and modeling engineer for the MITRE Corporation’s Center for Advanced Aviation System Development, a federally funded research and development center that supports the mission of the Federal Aviation Administration.