Development of Therapeutic Electrical Stimulation Technology

Edward Furlani Lab

3D computational model showing electrical stimulation and induced current in tissue for healing an incision on anatomical forearm. 

Development of next-gen programmable medical stimulation devices to enable unprecedented treatment for chronic wounds, bone regeneration, and peri-prosthetic (implant) infections, to accelerate healing and increase patient mobility.


Professor Edward Furlani is collaborating with Garwood Medical Devices LLC (GMD), a local medical device startup company, to develop electrical stimulation technology for biomedical applications. A total $1.48M in funding has been awarded to support this collaboration from the Buffalo Institute for Genomics and Data Analytics (BIG). BIG is a UB program and key component of Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo’s $100 million initiative to transform New York State into a national center for genomic medicine research. Professor Fulani is leading an interdisciplinary team of UB faculty and students to develop GMD’s technology. This includes fundamental studies of electrode-induced electromagnetic and electrochemical interactions in tissue and development of next-generation programmable electrical stimulation devices with integrated sensor and communications technologies to enable unprecedented treatment for chronic wounds, bone regeneration and peri-prosthetic (implant) infections. This new smart ES device technology will greatly enhance a patient’s quality of life by accelerating healing and increasing patient mobility while simultaneously decreasing the need for clinician intervention. Dr. Furlani and his team will leverage UB’s comprehensive expertise in modeling and design (Fig. 1), prototype fabrication and characterization, software communications, high performance computing and bioinformatics to guide and accelerate the commercialization of GMD’s ES device technology.

Students on this Project

  • Amir Mokhtar (PhD) 
  • Viktor Sukhotskiy (PhD) (EE)
  • Gourav Garg (MS) 
  • Innem Venkata Anudeep Kumar (MS) (EE)
  • Chinmayee Vallab Prabhu Dessai (MS) (EE)
  • Venoos Amiri Roodan (MS)
  • Shiv Krishna Reddy Madi Reddy (MS)
  • Priyanshu Vishnoi (MS)