Faculty News


Five UB faculty members argue their discipline is best able to rebuild society after a nuclear disaster at the annual Life Raft Debate.


School of Engineering and Applied Sciences faculty members Lora Cavuoto and Wenyao Xu are among this year’s winners of the President Emeritus and Mrs. Meyerson Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring, the highest university award for undergraduate mentoring.


Jun Zhuang received the 2019-20 Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring Award, presented by the Graduate School to recognize UB faculty for their support and development of graduate students through their mentoring activities.


Jim P. Zheng, PhD, a recognized leader in battery technology and University at Buffalo alumnus, has rejoined his alma mater to help advance research in clean energy.

Sriram Neelamegham, a professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, has been elected Fellow of the Biomedical Engineering Society for his contributions to the fields of vascular bioengineering and glycoengineering.

SUNY Distinguished Professor Michel Bruneau and assistant professor Negar Elhami Khorasani both received accolades from the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC) based on their career achievements.