Student Achievement

Learn about recent awards and accomplishments earned by graduate students in our department.

Dr. Frank D. Cozzarelli Memorial Scholarship

Established in 2022 by the family and friends of the late Dr. Frank Cozzarelli. Must be a student majoring in Mechanical or Aerospace Engineering in the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences. Preference will be given to a graduate student.

2022-2023 Recipient

Alexa O’Leary

2021-2022 Recipient

Joshua Duell

Elbridge N. and Stephana R. Townsend Scholarship Fund

Established in 1995 by William Townsend. Must be a newly admitted freshman or graduate student in the School of Engineering or Applied Sciences. Must have a strong academic record. Preference to mechanical engineering majors who are Western New York residents. Must complete the FAFSA and have financial need.

2021-2022 Recipients

Eric Mountain
Nathaniel Palmer

2020-2021 Recipient

Danielle Johnson

J. & S. Niciszewska Mucha Endowed Graduate Scholarship

Stephanie Niciszewska Mucha established this fund in 2013 in honor of her late husband, Joseph Mucha, a mechanical engineer. Must be a mechanical and aerospace engineering graduate student of high academic caliber. Must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident. Preference to students from Western New York and to students of Polish descent.

2022-2023 Recipients

Logan Andrzejewski
Madison Ciccarella
Nathan Gilchriest
Joseph Marziale
Alexa O'Leary
Louis Rizzo
Will Sheehan

2021-2022 Recipients

Andrew Abdalla
Mikel Aghachi
Samuel Basinait
Dylan Bellomy
Jeremy Chapman
Liam Field
Grant Hecht
Alden Noel
Louis Rizzo

2020-2021 Recipients

Joshua Prendergast
Liam Field
Shamus O'Connor
Syed Haider
Matthew Schulwitz
Louis Rizzo
Emilee Klug

National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowships

The NSF GRFP recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported STEM disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited US institutions. The five-year fellowship includes three years of financial support including an annual stipend of $34,000 and a cost of education allowance of $12,000 to the institution.

2021-2022 Recipients

Grant Hecht
Anoop Kiran

2020-2021 Recipient

Chris Gnam

SEAS Dean’s Graduate Award for Achievement

The Dean’s Graduate Achievement Award is given to students for their significant contributions to the advancement of their fields through the performance of outstanding research.

2021-2022 Recipients

Jesse Callanan

2020-2021 Recipients

Cameron Grace
Payam Ghassemi
Yong Hu

Harold O. Wolf Award

The Harold O. Wolf Award recognizes high achieving students who distinguish themselves through research, academic coursework and extracurricular activities. The award is given by Mary Wolf in honor of her late husband Harold O. Wolf (BA Geology 1960).

2020-2021 Recipient

Cameron Grace