Seven SEAS faculty honored by UB as exceptional scholars, innovative teachers

by UBNow Staff

Published June 30, 2021

Seven School of Engineering and Applied Sciences faculty have been named recipients of the University at Buffalo's 2021 Exceptional Scholar and Teaching Innovation Awards. The awards honor UB’s best and brightest teachers and researchers.


The SEAS awardees were among 22 faculty from across the university to receive the awards. All recipients will be recognized at the annual Celebration of Faculty and Staff Excellence, to be held during the fall semester.

Exceptional Scholars Award

The Exceptional Scholars Award honors faculty members for their outstanding research performance at different stages of their careers. There are two awards: Sustained Achievement Awards for senior scholars and Young Investigator Awards for untenured scholars who received their terminal degree within the past eight years. Both awards recognize work that has “garnered public and/or professional accolades beyond the norm.”

Sustained Achievement recipients are selected based on their body of work over a number of years. The award is not meant to serve as a lifetime achievement honor, but rather as recognition for outstanding performance in a recent segment of a scholar’s career.

Recipients are Haiqing Lin, associate professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering; Mettupalayam Sivaselvan, associate professor and director, Structural Engineering and Earthquake Simulation Laboratory, Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering; and Wenyao Xu, associate professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering.

The Young Investigator Award is presented to untenured researchers whose work has garnered universal acclaim or been completed under the auspices of a prestigious fellowship grant.

Recipients for 2021 are Negar Elhami-Khorasani, assistant professor, Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering; Kenneth Joseph, assistant professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering; and Huamin Li, assistant professor, Department of Electrical Engineering.

Teaching Innovation Award

UB’s Teaching Innovation Award recognizes faculty members who have used new methods and approaches to teaching that have had a demonstrable effect on enhancing student-learning outcomes, including innovative uses of educational technology. All UB faculty members are eligible for the award.

Recipients for 2021 are Atri Rudra, professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering.