CSE Committee Rosters

Davis Hall.

CSE discusses and sets departmental policies in departmental policy governance committees.

Committee members typically include CSE faculty, staff, and students.

On this page:

CSE Alumni and Community Outreach Committee

Email: cse-alumni-community-outreach@buffalo.edu

  • Chairs: Tooba Khilji, Jinhui Xu
  • Members: David Doermann, Alan Hunt, Ann Mangan, Chunming Qiao

CSE Colloquium + UpBeat Committee

One faculty member and two graduate students, schedules colloquia for the Department. The committee draws up speakers' schedules and makes arrangements, including social activities.

Email: cse-colloquium@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Zhuoyue Zhao
  • Members: Mingchen Gao, Andrew Hirsch, Kaiyi Ji, Haonan Lu, Chen Wang

CSE Distinguished Speaker Committee

Email: cse-dss@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Atri Rudra
  • Members: Changyou Chen, Hongxin Hu, Nalini Ratha, Jinjun Xiong

CSE Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

Email: cse-dei@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Kenneth Joseph
  • Members: Tevfik Kosar, Ifeoma Nwogu, Shamsad Parvin, Jennifer Winikus

CSE Executive Committee

Coordinates the administrative activities of the department. It consists of the Department Chair, the Associate Department Chairs, the Director of Graduate Admissions, the Director of Graduate Studies, the Director of Undergraduate Studies, the Director of Administration, the Director of Information Technology, and the immediate past Department Chair.

Email: cse-exec@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Jinhui Xu
  • Members: Oliver Kennedy, Tooba Khilji, Christian Miller, Ifeoma Nwogu, Chunming Qiao, Kris Schindler, Rohini Srihari, Shambhu Upadhyaya, Wenyao Xu, Junsong Yuan, Lukasz Ziarek

CSE Facilities Committee

The chair of the committee, the Director of Information Technology, all full-time technical-support staff, interested faculty members, one graduate student, and one undergraduate student. This committee organizes and supervises all departmental laboratories and personnel working in them. It also determines the policy on operating these laboratories and makes recommendations about facilities and services outside the Department. It serves as a liaison between the Department and the office of Computing and Information Technology.

  • Chair: Christian Miller
  • Members: Delia Ferguson, Tooba Khilji, Kris Schindler

CSE Faculty Evaluation and Awards Committee

Email: cse-faculty-awards@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Wenyao Xu
  • Members: David Doermann, Chunming Qiao, Nalini Ratha, Rohini Srihari, Shambhu Upadhyaya, Junsong Yuan

CSE Graduate Admissions Committee

Email: cse-grad-adm@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Junsong Yuan
  • Members: Changyou Chen, Karthik Dantu, Mingchen Gao, Thomas Hayes, Andrew Hirsch, Kaiyi Ji, Matthew Knepley, Haonan Lu, Ahmet Erdem Sariyuce, Chen Wang, Jennifer Winikus, Yaxiong Xie, Ziming Zhao, Zhuoyue Zhao

CSE Graduate Admissions Automation Committee

Email: cse-grad-adm-auto@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Marina Blanton
  • Members: Changyou Chen, David Doermann, Xin He, Zhanpeng Jin, Christian Miller

CSE Graduate Affairs + Graduate Student Awards Committee

The Director of Graduate Studies (as chair), other faculty members (appointed by the Chairman of the Department), and graduate students (elected by the CSEGSA). The chairman of this committee supervises all graduate student programs and advisement, including monitoring degree progress, appointing doctoral committees, and promulgating policies about RA, TA, and GA duties. This committee establishes graduate degree and admissions requirements, graduate course offerings and content, and other related matters. It also reviews graduate applications and decides whom to admit.

Email: cse-gac@buffalo.edu

  • Chairs: Oliver Kennedy, Ifeoma Nwogu
  • Members: Karthik Dantu, Sreyasee Das Bhattacharjee, Thomas Hayes, Xin He, Russ Miller, Bina Ramamurthy, Nalini Ratha, Kenneth Regan

CSE Graduate Program Assessment Committee

Email: cse-grad-pa@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Hongxin Hu
  • Members: Oliver Kennedy, Matthew Knepley, Ifeoma Nwogu

CSE Grievance Committee

Email: cse-grievance@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Kenneth Regan
  • Members: Nasrin Akhter, Ziming Zhao

CSE Internships Committee

  • Chair: Ahmet Erdem Sariyuce

CSE Ladder Faculty Search Committee

Email: cse-faculty-search@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Junsong Yuan
  • Members: Karthik Dantu, Hongxin Hu, Matthew Knepley, Shi Li, Ifeoma Nwogu, Wenyao Xu, Lukasz Ziarek, Jaroslaw Zola

CSE Lecturer Search Committee

Email: cse-lecturer-search@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Carl Alphonce
  • Members: Farshad Ghanei, Matthew Hertz, Alan Hunt, Jingjing Meng, Bina Ramamurthy, Kris Schindler, Jennifer Winikus

CSE Personnel Committee

  • Chair: Jinhui Xu
  • Members: Gena Hoch, Tooba Khilji

CSE Promoting Academic Integrity Committee

Email: cse-pai@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Ethan Blanton
  • Members: Carl Alphonce, Oliver Kennedy

CSE Public Relations and Communications Committee

Email: cse-communications@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Jinhui Xu
  • Members: Tooba Khilji, Christian Miller, Edward Sobczak, Wenyao Xu, Junsong Yuan

CSE Strategic Planning Committee

Email: cse-strategic-planning@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Chunming Qiao
  • Members: Tooba Khilji, Russ Miller, Shambhu Upadhyaya, Jaroslaw Zola

CSE Student Engagement and Experiential Learning Committee

Email: cse-seel@buffalo.edu

  • Chairs: David Doermann, Jinjun Xiong
  • Members: Hongxin Hu, Alan Hunt, Zhanpeng Jin, Kenneth Joseph, Shi Li, Kris Schindler, Rohini Srihari, Alina Vereshchaka, Wenyao Xu, Lukasz Ziarek

CSE Teaching Effectiveness + TA Training Committee

Email: cse-teach@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Carl Alphonce
  • Members: Oliver Kennedy, Russ Miller, Rohini Srihari, Lukasz Ziarek

CSE Teaching Load Task Force Committee

Email: cse-tltf@buffalo.edu

  • Chair: Carl Alphonce
  • Members: Oliver Kennedy, Bina Ramamurthy, Alina Vereshchaka, Jaroslaw Zola

CSE Undergraduate Affairs + Undergraduate Student Awards Committee

The Director of Undergraduate Studies (as chair), other faculty members (appointed by the Chairman of the Department), and undergraduate students (elected by the Computer Science Undergraduate Student Association). The Director of Undergraduate Studies supervises all undergraduate students' programs and advisement, including monitoring degree progress and disseminating information about undergraduate study. The committee supervises undergraduate degree and admissions requirements and undergraduate course offerings and content. It also reviews undergraduate applications and decides whom to admit.

Email: cse-ugac@buffalo.edu

  • Chairs: Kris Schindler, Lukasz Ziarek
  • Members: Carl Alphonce, Ethan Blanton, Sreyasee Das Bhattacharjee, Paul Dickson, Matthew Hertz, Kenneth Joseph, Oliver Kennedy, Jingjing Meng, Michelle Neumaier, Atri Rudra, Ramalingam Sridhar, Jennifer Winikus

CSE Undergraduate Program Assessment Committee

Email: cse-ug-pa@buffalo.edu

  • Chairs: Matthew Hertz, Ramalingam Sridhar
  • Members: Wen Dong, Bina Ramamurthy, Kenneth Regan, Kris Schindler

SEAS Adjudication Committee

  • Members: Shi Li, Russ Miller, Ramalingam Sridhar

SEAS Faculty Awards Committee

  • Chair: Wenyao Xu
  • Members: Atri Rudra

SEAS Promotion Committee

  • Chair: Siwei Lyu
  • Members: Junsong Yuan

SEAS Qualified Rank Promo Committee

  • Chair: Nalini Ratha
  • Members: Jinjun Xiong

SEAS Tenure Committee

  • Chair: Marina Blanton
  • Members: Karthik Dantu

UB Adjudication Pool Committee

  • Members: Ramalingam Sridhar