Ken Tye Yong receives Rosenhain Medal

Ken Tye Yong.

BS 2001, PhD 2006

Associate Professor Ken Tye Yong of Electrical and Electronic Engineering at Nanyang Technological University is this year’s recipient of the Rosenhain Medal and Prize of the Council of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3), in recognition of distinguished achievement in any branch of materials science, with preference given to researchers under the age of 40. Instituted in 1951 to honor the memory of metallurgist Walter Rosenhain, it is the highest young researcher award presented by IOM3, the premier global network for professionals in materials science. Prof. Yong is just the second Asian scientist to receive the award since its establishment. Specifically, Prof. Yong is cited for his early-career accomplishment in the area of the engineering of functional nanomaterials for biomedicine, nanophotonics, and miniaturized devices at the nano and microscale level. Yong, who earned his PhD in the Swihart group, has co-authored more than 200 journal publications, which have been cited approximately 10,000 times.