Department Milestones

Our timeline of milestones will be updated as new developments arise.

Date Milestone
September 2017 Dean Liesl Folks formally proposes the establishment of the Department of Engineering Education (DEE) in the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at UB.
February 2018 The Faculty Senate approves the proposal to establish DEE.
March 8, 2018 President Satish Tripathi approves the establishment of the Department of Engineering Education within the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences.
July 2018 Carl Lund, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, is appointed as chair of DEE.
August 2018 The Department of Engineering Education is formed with the following faculty members: Keshab Acharya, Amy Baird, Kris Depowski O’Donnell, Arezoo Hajesfandiari, Emily Hammond, Lauren Kuryloski, Julia Latorre, Kristen Moore, Stephanie Phillips, Presentacion Rivera Reyes, Jude Sabato and Jennifer Stamm. Marianne Sullivan is appointed as the Director of Administration.
September 2018 DEE faculty move into new offices in Capen Hall.
January 2019 Adrienne Decker joins the DEE faculty as an Assistant Professor.
August 2019 Andrew Olewnik and Jessica Swenson join the DEE faculty as Assistant Professors.
August 2019 First DEE courses, both special topics, are offered.
January 2020 Jennifer Stamm transferred from DEE to the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.