UB announces its 2015 Presidential Scholars

several students walk through a UB North Campus corridor.

Release Date: July 23, 2015

“The aim is to shape a class that will surprise us and make positive contributions to the future of the state. I’ve never been more confident that we will achieve this than with the group we have this year.”
Andrew Stott, dean of undergraduate education
University at Buffalo

BUFFALO, N.Y. – Eighteen scholars – all from New York State – will receive full tuition, fees, housing, board and books for four years of undergraduate study after they were chosen for University at Buffalo Presidential Scholarships, an honor given to the top 1 percent of students in each new freshman class.

A complete list of the UB Presidential Scholars, including their hometowns and high schools, is below.

The Presidential Scholarship is awarded through the University Honors College, a program that provides an innovative curriculum and unique opportunities outside the classroom for academically gifted students. Photos, where available, can be downloaded here: https://ubnews.smugmug.com/2015/Presidential-Scholars/  

“UB’s Presidential Scholarship is the most prestigious undergraduate scholarship in the whole of New York State,” said Andrew Stott, dean of undergraduate education and director of the Honors College. “Competition is fierce, but we don’t just look for the students with the best scores. We want individuals who are civically minded, intellectually motivated and who come with an array of talents and quirks.

“The aim is to shape a class that will surprise us and make positive contributions to the future of the state. I’ve never been more confident that we will achieve this than with the group we have this year.”

The University Honors College cultivates a small college setting that offers access to all the resources of a large research university. Recipients are automatically admitted to the college and must maintain good standing within the program to keep their awards.

To be considered for the Presidential Scholarship, students complete a separate application that includes three essays, three letters of recommendation and a resume.  Top applicants are invited to campus for interviews to meet with current students, faculty and staff.

Presidential Scholarships are the most valuable of UB’s renewable, freshman merit scholarships, which are awarded to approximately 25 percent of each incoming undergraduate class.  The university commits nearly $12 million annually to these academically talented scholars from around the world. More information on UB scholarships is available at http://financialaid.buffalo.edu/aid/scholarships.

The 2015 UB Presidential Scholars – all from New York State – are:

Kira Ashton of Webster, Webster Thomas High School

Kelly Brown of Lancaster, Lancaster High School

Michaela Cornaire of La Fargeville, La Fargeville Central School

Matthew Eichhorn of Buffalo, Williamsville South High School

Russell Guilbault of Fairport, Fairport High School

Jaimee Harmon of Tonawanda, Tonawanda High School

Blake Hurlburt of Painted Post, Corning-Painted Post West High School

Grant Iraci of Phelps, Midlakes High School

Jack Jibb of Monroe, Monroe Woodbury Senior High School

Owen Langrehr of New York City, Beacon School

Connor Mack of Baldwin, Baldwin Senior High School

Maxwell Mcmanus of Buffalo, City Honors School

Bailey Radel of Liverpool, Liverpool High School

Victoria Rucinski of Buffalo, Buffalo Academy of Sacred Heart

Matthew Straub of White Plains, White Plains High School

Anthony Taboni of Buffalo, Canisius High School

Kathleen Warner of Marietta, Tully Junior-Senior High School

Christopher Zwink of East Amherst, Williamsville North High School

Media Contact Information

Charles Anzalone
News Content Manager
Education, Educational Opportunity Center, Law,
Academies, Honors College, Student Activities

Tel: 716-645-4600