Krishna Rajan named Chair of UB’s new Department of Materials Design and Innovation


Krishna Rajan, an internationally recognized expert on materials informatics, has been named the Erich Bloch Endowed Chair of the University at Buffalo’s new Department of Materials Design and Innovation (MDI).

Rajan has authored or co-authored more than 300 publications and has delivered more than 270 invited lectures and presentations. He is the founding editor-in-chief of the new journal Materials Discovery, and serves on numerous national and international panels, including the National Academy of Sciences’ Material Science and Engineering Panel at the Army Research Laboratory.

He has received numerous awards and recognitions, including most recently the Alexander von Humboldt Research Award. The award is given to researchers who have had a significant impact in their discipline—in this case, materials informatics—and are expected to continue producing cutting-edge achievements.

He received a doctor of science (ScD) in materials science, minoring in science and technology policy, from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1978, and held post-doctoral appointments at MIT and Cambridge University. He was a staff scientist at the National Research Council of Canada and served on the faculties at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and Iowa State University.

"A world-renowned scholar with an impressive record of research, teaching and service, Krishna will enhance UB’s standing as a premier public research university while advancing important regional and national initiatives that will help Western New York grow as a hub for advanced manufacturing and biotechnology," said Liesl Folks, dean of the School of Applied Sciences and Engineering.

The Department of Materials Design and Innovation is a unique collaboration between the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences and the College of Arts of Sciences. A generous donation from Erich Bloch, a UB alumnus who became a high-ranking executive at IBM and director of the National Science Foundation from 1984-1990, helped fund the newly formed department.