The Space Bulls Ride Again

UB Space Bulls in NASA rockyard.

The UB Space Bulls earned a place in the prestigious NASA and NIA RASC-AL Robo-Ops Planetary Rover Competition.

The team, advised by Professors Kevin Burke and Jennifer Zirnheld, designed a rover teleoperated from UB to traverse various terrains at Johnson Space Center Rockyard facility located in Houston, Texas. This was the Space Bulls' fifth trip to the competition, which only invites eight tems nation-wide.  

Team members include:

EE (grad):

  • Kyle Thompson
  • Anivita Upadhyay
  • Ajeya Anand
  • Akeem Francis
  • Michael Singletary
  • Harshita Kapadia
  • Abhimav Siwach
  • Kugan Veluswamy

EE (undergrad):

  • Margaret Donnelly
  • Mark Grassi
  • Bryan Chansamut

MAE (grad):

  • Hemanth Manjunatha

MAE (undergrad):

  • Livio Forte III
  • Michael Bill
  • Akshay Gupta
  • Andrew Neu
  • George Melero

CSE (grad):

  • Sneha Thazhathethil
  • Parag Jayant Datar

CSE (undergrad):

  • Mitchell Rathbun
  • Jia Yong Zeng

RASC-AL Exploration Robo-Ops Competition is an engineering competition sponsored by NASA and managed by the National Institute of Aerospace. In this exciting competition, undergraduate and graduate students are invited to create a multi-disciplinary team to build a planetary rover prototype and demonstrate its capabilities to perform a series of competitive tasks in field tests at the NASA Johnson Space Center. Allowable rover systems can include a single rover, multiple independently controlled rovers, or a parent rover with supplementary/scouting micro-rovers, all of which combined together are required to meet packaging and mass constraints. Additional details about the competition may be found at

Published May 23, 2016 This content is archived.