Pattern recognition is the study of methods and algorithms for putting data objects into categories. While classical pattern recognition techniques are rooted in statistics and decision theory, the machine learning paradigm is commonly used to design practical systems.

Machine learning is a method of programming computers where, instead of designing the algorithm to explicitly perform a given task, the machine is programmed to learn from an incomplete set of examples. There are several different machine learning paradigms, such as the naive Bayes rule, artificial neural networks, genetic algorithms, and decision tree learning.

Data mining is the extraction of 'nuggets' of information from structured databases. Algorithms for data mining have a close relationship to methods of pattern recognition and machine learning. Information extraction is the task of processing unstructured data, such as free-form documents, Web-pages and e-mail, so as to extract named entities such as people, places, organizations, and their relationships.

Faculty

Varun Chandola

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

304 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4747

Email: chandola@buffalo.edu

Changyou Chen

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338L Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4750

Email: changyou@buffalo.edu

Wen Dong

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

306 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1589

Email: wendong@buffalo.edu

Jing Gao

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

350 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1586

Email: jing@buffalo.edu

Venu Govindaraju

Vice President for Research and Economic Development; Founding Director, Center for Unified Biometrics and Sensors (CUBS); Associate Director, Center of Excellence for Document Analysis and Recognition (CEDAR); SUNY Distinguished Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

516 Capen Hall, 113 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3321, (716) 645-1558

Email: venu@cubs.buffalo.edu

Marianthi Markatou

Associate Chair for Research and Healthcare Informatics; Assistant Director, Institute for Health Care Informatics; Professor; Adjunct Professor, Computer Science and Engineering

Biostatistics

726 Kimball Tower

Phone: (716) 829-2894

Email: markatou@buffalo.edu

A. Erdem Sariyuce

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

323 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1592

Email: erdem@buffalo.edu

Sargur (Hari) N. Srihari

Founding Director, Center of Excellence for Document Analysis and Recognition (CEDAR); SUNY Distinguished Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338C Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-6162

Email: srihari@cedar.buffalo.edu

Jennifer Winikus

Teaching Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

351 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4739

Email: jwinikus@buffalo.edu

Aidong Zhang

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

349 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4769

Email: azhang@buffalo.edu