It is already being called the third science, complementing theoretical as well as laboratory science. A major focus of computational science is the knowledge and techniques required to perform computer simulation. The importance of simulation can be found in “grand challenge” problems in areas such as structural biology, materials science, high-energy physics, economics, fluid dynamics, and global climate change, to name a few.

Faculty

Vipin Chaudhary

Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

305 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4740

Email: vipin@buffalo.edu

Matthew Knepley

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

334 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-XXXX

Email: knepley@buffalo.edu

Dimitrios Koutsonikolas

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

311 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4733

Email: dimitrio@buffalo.edu

Russ Miller

UB Distinguished Professor; Adjunct Professor of Electrical Engineering; Adjunct Professor of Structural Biology; Senior Research Scientist at the Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Institute

Computer Science and Engineering

338F Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4737

Email: miller@buffalo.edu

Bina Ramamurthy

Teaching Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

345 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3182

Email: bina@buffalo.edu

A. Erdem Sariyuce

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

323 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1592

Email: erdem@buffalo.edu

Jaroslaw (Jaric) Zola

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

335 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3187

Email: jzola@buffalo.edu