Our faculty lead their fields of inquiry by advancing the state of the art, for which their communities recognize them with service roles, fellowships, research funding, and achievement awards.

On this page:

Nobel Prizes


President—IEEE Biometrics Council

President—University at Buffalo, The State University of New York

Lifetime Research Achievement Awards

ACM Distinguished Scientist

Fulbright Award

Humboldt Foundation Senior Research Award

IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award

TC-CSR Distinguished Technical Achievement Award

Outstanding Achievement Awards

Halstead Award for Outstanding Research in Software Engineering


Major Junior Faculty Grants



IEEE Biometrics Compendium

Associate Editors

Editorial Boards

IEEE Access

IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and Security (TIFS)

System, University, and School Awards

System Awards

University Awards

Milton Plesur Award for Excellence in Teaching

President Emeritus and Mrs. Meyerson Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring

2020—A. Erdem Sariyuce

2018—Shi Li

2020—Wen Dong

2019—Jaric Zola

2019—Jen Wojcik

2020—Wenyao Xu

2019—Jin Gao

2018—Tevfik Kosar

2020—Atri Rudra

2018—Tevfik Kosar

2020—Ed Sobczak

2019—Ken Smith

Departmental Awards

CSE Best Teaching Faculty

2020—Alan Hunt, Kris Schindler

CSE Career Initiation

2020—Farshad Ghanei, Weihang Wang

CSE Early Career Faculty Teaching

2020—Wen Dong, Mingchen Gao

CSE Early Career Researcher of the Year

2020—Changyou Chen, Kenny Joseph

CSE Faculty Distinguished Teacher Award

CSE Outstanding Funding

2020—Varun Chandola, David Doermann

CSE Outstanding Service

2020—Marina Blanton, Zhanpeng Jin, Steve Ko, Dimitrios Koutsonikolas

CSE Senior Career Researcher of the Year

2020—Shi Li, Junsong Yuan

CSE Senior Teacher of the Year

2020—Oliver Kennedy, Russ Miller, Rohini Srihari, Luke Ziarek