William Rapaport is the recipient of the 2015 Barwise Prize from the American Philosophical Association (APA).

Associate Professor Kui Ren has been elevated to IEEE Fellow for his "Contributions to Security and Privacy in Cloud Computing and Wireless Networks​".
CSE Professor and Chair Chunming Qiao will be awarded the 2015 TC-CSR Distinguished Technical Achievement Award. This is a yearly award to recognize members of ComSoc Communications Switching & Routing TC for their technical contributions in the fields covered by CSR.
A team of six UB students (four of whom are CSE majors) was victorious in the inaugural Collegiate Pentesting Competition, a cybersecurity challenge held Nov. 7-8 at the Rochester Institute of Technology. Representing CSE were: Woody Clark (BS/MS '16) of Batavia, Joe D’Amato (CEN BS '15, MS '16) of Buffalo, James Droste (CS BS Candidate '17) of Nanuet, and Jesse Freeman (BS/MS '16) of Buffalo.
Congratulations to Murat Demirbas, winner of the 2015 IEEE Big Data Best Paper Award.
CSE sends a postcard to students and alumni announcing the appointment of Chunming Qiao as department chair for the Fall 2015 - Spring 2018 term.
Dan Magnuszewski (CS BS '05) is CTO of ACV Auctions, winner of the 2015 43North $1M grand prize. ACV Auctions is a live wholesale marketplace for dealer-only automobile auctions.

Eleven SEAS faculty were among those honored for notable achievement, service and teaching.

Ken Regan is featured in a Wall Street Journal article titled, "High-Tech Chess Cheaters Charge Ahead". Dr. Regan's longtime collaborator Dick Lipton offers his congratulations and some personal context here.
The American Philosophical Association (APA) has awarded Bill Rapaport the 2015 Barwise Prize. Each year, the APA committee on philosophy and computers awards the Barwise Prize to honor significant and sustained contributions to areas relevant to philosophy and computing by an APA member.