10 SEAS faculty recognized at UB's Celebration of Faculty & Staff Academic Excellence

From left: Provost Charles Zukoski, Hui Meng, Jonathan Lovell, Chang Wen Chen, Joseph Mollendorf, Paul Schifferle, Jeffrey Errington, and President Satish Tripathi. Missing from the photo are: Kui Ren, Steven Ko, Qiaoqiang Gan and Manoranjan Majji.

Published October 26, 2016

Ten faculty from the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences are among those who were honored for notable achievement, service and teaching at UB's 2016 Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence.

Awardees Recognized as Scholars, Teachers

SUNY Distinguished Professors

This highest State University of New York rank recognizes exceptional faculty merit and outstanding academic contributions.

  • Joseph Mollendorf, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities

This award recognizes faculty members who consistently go above and beyond their teaching and professional duties to make extraordinary contributions to their respective fields.

  • Chang Wen Chen, Department of Computer Science andl Engineering
  • Jeffrey Errington, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Hui Meng, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Adjunct Teaching

The Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Adjunct Teaching recognizes consistently superior teaching by adjunct faculty at the graduate, undergraduate, or professional level. Recipients of this award have demonstrated outstanding support for intellectual growth of individual students and the use of relevant contemporary data from their disciplines in their teaching. This recognition is a system-wide acknowledgment of the contributions and dedication to high quality education by adjunct teaching faculty.

  • Paul Schifferle, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Exceptional Scholar Award for Sustained Achievement

This award honors outstanding professional achievement that has been focused on a particular body of work over a number of years. This award recognizes an unprecedented accomplishment in a senior scholar’s career, distinguishing a body of work of enduring importance that has gone beyond the norm in a particular field of study.

  • Kui Ren, Department of Computer Science and Engineering

Exceptional Scholar Award for Young Investigators

This award celebrates a recent superior achievement of a scholar in his/her field of study. Such an achievement will have distinguished the recipient as an up-and-coming scholar, as well as earned the individual acclaim for his/her work.

  • Qiaoqiang Gan, Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Jonathan Lovell, Department of Biomedical Engineering
  • Manoranjan Majji, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

UB Teaching Innovation Award

This award recognizes faculty who have contributed significantly to engaging students with new methods and approaches to teaching. The award recognizes faculty members whose innovative teaching methods have a demonstrable effect on enhancing student learning-outcomes.

  • Steven Ko, Department of Computer Science and Engineering