MAE celebrates undergraduate student excellence

From left: Seamus Lombardo, Mara Boardman, Alberto Padovan, Akshay Sivadas, and Walker Gosrich received undergraduate awards from the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

By Sarah D'Iorio

Published May 18, 2017

“There are some very hard working, dynamic, and outstanding undergraduate students in the department, as demonstrated by this group of recipients.”
Kemper Lewis, Professor and Chair
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Leading the development of a small satellite for NASA. Engaging with industry to develop real-world solutions. Conducting diverse and creative research investigations. Helping the next generation of engineers discover their potential. Landing a job with NASA.

These are just some of the accomplishments of five undergraduate students in UB’s Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE) who were recognized in the department's inagugural awards ceremony on May 9, 2017 in Davis Hall on UB North Campus.

The following recipients were honored for outstanding achievements during the 2016-2017 academic year:

  • Mara Boardman, a junior in aerospace engineering, received the Distinguished Leadership Award for demonstrating significant leadership and organizational skills in her role as chief engineer of GLADOS, one of UB Nanosatellite Laboratory’s satellite missions. Boardman has been involved with the GLADOS team since her freshman year and has held roles as Machining Manager and Integration and Testing Lead before stepping into the leadership role of Chief Engineer.
  • Walker Gosrich, a junior in mechanical engineering and 2017 Goldwater Scholarship recipient, received the Humanitarian Award, for taking an active role in UB’s Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Partnership (ISEP) during which he volunteered in Buffalo public schools twice a week. Gosrich also collaborated with other UB students to form a partnership with Hutchinson Central Technical High School to provide outreach and tutoring services to high school students.
  • Alberto Padovan, a senior in aerospace engineering, received the Undergraduate Researcher Award for his involvement in several different research projects. Working alongside Dr. Matthew Ringuette and Dr. David Salac, Padovan investigated the characterization of the material properties of soft matter in the biomedical field for the purpose of drug and nutrients delivery. In a separate project, he worked with Dr. Puneet Singla on the development of a feedback controller for a helicopter unit.
  • Akshay Sivadas, a senior in mechanical engineering, received the Young Professional Award for excelling in early industry experiences. As a sophomore, Sivadas was placed by The Center for Industrial Effectiveness (TCIE) on an industry project with Buffalo Manufacturing Works in which he designed a factory floor automation project and robotic cell for the company MacLean Curtis. He has since continued working with the company on multiple industry projects.
  • Seamus Lombardo, a junior in aerospace engineering, received The Chair’s Award for demonstrating sustained excellence in academics, leadership and service. Lombardo, who has held multiple positions in the UB Nanosatellite Laboratory, currently serves as Program Manager for the GLADOS mission. Lombardo has interned at Millennium Space Systems, SpaceX, and at NASA Goddard Space Center. He was recently accepted into the NASA Pathways Program, which allows him to intern with NASA for the remainder for his degree and obtain full-time employment upon graduation. Lombardo has also participated in outreach efforts geared towards helping middle and high school students realize their STEM capabilities.

Selections for the awards were made by the Student Excellence Committee, which included four teaching professors and one MAE staff member.

“There are some very hard working, dynamic, and outstanding undergraduate students in the department, as demonstrated by this group of recipients,” said Professor and Chair Kemper Lewis.

All MAE faculty, staff and students were invited to join the recipients at the awards ceremony, which kicked off with opening remarks from Lewis. A video, created by MAE Undergraduate Coordinator Brittany Sandor, introduced this year’s recipients who were then each presented with an award plaque from Lewis. Following the presentation of awards, the attendees gathered for a reception.

View the photo gallery:

MAE Undergraduate Awards

View the video: