It explains why certain problems have no practical solutions and helps researchers anticipate the difficulties involved in solving problems of certain types. The classification is quantitative and investigates both the resources that are necessary to solve a problem called lower bounds for the problem and the resources currently known to be sufficient called upper bounds. In general, complexity theory deals with the quantitative laws of computation and reasoning. For this reason, complexity theory concerns issues and problems of direct interest to many other disciplines as well.

Design of algorithm studies methods and techniques used to develop efficient algorithms. The design of efficient algorithms is often a critical first step in solving problems in many areas. Depending on the model of computation or computer platform that is required for an application, one might draw on algorithmic research in specific subareas.

Faculty

Jesse Hartloff

Teaching Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

344 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4729

Email: hartloff@buffalo.edu

Xin (Roger) He

Director of Graduate Admissions; Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

318 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4741

Email: xinhe@buffalo.edu

Andrew Hughes

Teaching Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

348 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3180

Email: ahughes6@buffalo.edu

Shi Li

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

328 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1590

Email: shil@buffalo.edu

Marianthi Markatou

Associate Chair for Research and Healthcare Informatics; Assistant Director, Institute for Health Care Informatics; Professor; Adjunct Professor, Computer Science and Engineering

Biostatistics

726 Kimball Tower

Phone: (716) 829-2894

Email: markatou@buffalo.edu

Russ Miller

UB Distinguished Professor; Adjunct Professor of Electrical Engineering; Adjunct Professor of Structural Biology; Senior Research Scientist at the Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Institute

Computer Science and Engineering

338F Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4737

Email: miller@buffalo.edu

Nils Napp

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

332 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4754

Email: nnapp@buffalo.edu

Hung Ngo

Adjunct Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

Ken Regan

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

326 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4738

Email: regan@buffalo.edu

Atri Rudra

Interim Associate Department Chair; Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

319 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2464

Email: atri@buffalo.edu

Jinhui Xu

Associate Department Chair; Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

315 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4734

Email: jinhui@buffalo.edu

Centers and Labs