Pattern recognition is the study of methods and algorithms for putting data objects into categories. While classical pattern recognition techniques are rooted in statistics and decision theory, the machine learning paradigm is commonly used to design practical systems.

Machine learning is a method of programming computers where, instead of designing the algorithm to explicitly perform a given task, the machine is programmed to learn from an incomplete set of examples. There are several different machine learning paradigms, such as the naive Bayes rule, artificial neural networks, genetic algorithms, and decision tree learning.

Data mining is the extraction of 'nuggets' of information from structured databases. Algorithms for data mining have a close relationship to methods of pattern recognition and machine learning. Information extraction is the task of processing unstructured data, such as free-form documents, Web-pages and e-mail, so as to extract named entities such as people, places, organizations, and their relationships.

Affiliated Faculty

Varun Chandola

Varun Chandola

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

213 Capen Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4747

Email: chandola@buffalo.edu

Vipin Chaudhary

Vipin Chaudhary

Professor, SUNY Empire Innovation

Computer Science and Engineering

305 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4740

Email: vipin@buffalo.edu

Wen Dong

Wen Dong

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

306 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1589

Email: wendong@buffalo.edu

Jing Gao

Jing Gao

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

350 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1586

Email: jing@buffalo.edu

Venu Govindaraju

Venu Govindaraju

Vice President for Research and Economic Development; Founding Director, Center for Unified Biometrics and Sensors (CUBS); Associate Director, Center of Excellence for Document Analysis and Recognition (CEDAR); SUNY Distinguished Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

516 Capen Hall, 113 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3321, (716) 645-1558

Email: venu@cubs.buffalo.edu

Portrait of Dr. Kevin R. Keane

Kevin R. Keane

Research Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

303 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4766

Email: krkeane@buffalo.edu

Oliver Kennedy

Oliver Kennedy

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

211 Capen Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1597

Email: okennedy@buffalo.edu

Bina Ramamurthy

Bina Ramamurthy

Teaching Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

345 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3182

Email: bina@buffalo.edu

A. Erdem Sariyuce

A. Erdem Sariyuce

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

323 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1592

Email: erdem@buffalo.edu

Junsong Yuan

Junsong Yuan

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338H Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0562

Email: jsyuan@buffalo.edu

Aidong Zhang

Aidong Zhang

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

349 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4769

Email: azhang@buffalo.edu