Topics include wide-area networks and local-area networks, wired technology and wireless/mobile technology, data and telephony communications as well as integrated services, and applications (e.g., Web browsing) and modem access. Networking includes enabling technologies for other systems in distance learning, multimedia systems, distributed super-computing, telemedicine, collaborative research, electronic commerce, and online entertainment. Distributed systems is the study of the communication and coordination patterns of components found in networked computers.

On this page:

Faculty

Karthik Dantu

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

106 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2670

Email: kdantu@buffalo.edu

Murat Demirbas

Director of Graduate Studies; Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

313 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4753

Email: demirbas@buffalo.edu

Wen Dong

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

306 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1589

Email: wendong@buffalo.edu

Oliver Kennedy

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338H Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1597

Email: okennedy@buffalo.edu

Steve Ko

Interim Co-Director of Undergraduate Studies; Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

113F Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4732

Email: stevko@buffalo.edu

Tevfik Kosar

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338J Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2323

Email: tkosar@buffalo.edu

Dimitrios Koutsonikolas

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

311 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4733

Email: dimitrio@buffalo.edu

Shi Li

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

328 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1590

Email: shil@buffalo.edu

Nils Napp

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

332 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4754

Email: nnapp@buffalo.edu

Hung Ngo

Adjunct Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

Chunming Qiao

Department Chair; SUNY Distinguished Professor; Adjunct Professor of Electrical Engineering

Computer Science and Engineering

312 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4751

Email: qiao@buffalo.edu

Bina Ramamurthy

Teaching Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

345 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3182

Email: bina@buffalo.edu

Kui Ren

Professor, SUNY Empire Innovation

Computer Science and Engineering

317 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1587

Email: kuiren@buffalo.edu

Ramalingam Sridhar

Associate Professor; Adjunct Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering

Computer Science and Engineering

338K Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3186

Email: rsridhar@buffalo.edu

Lu Su

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

321 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1588

Email: lusu@buffalo.edu

Satish Tripathi

UB President; Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

University at Buffalo

501 Capen Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2901

Email: president@buffalo.edu

Wenyao Xu

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

330 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4748

Email: wenyaoxu@buffalo.edu

Centers and Labs

Featured Research Projects