They include tasks such as driving trucks, translating languages, writing high school essays, creating art, analyzing forensic evidence, and even work as a surgeon.  Although some of these goals are predicted to happen over several decades, AI is concerned with  principles and algorithms that allow researchers to make such bold predictions.  Current methods focus on variants of deep learningsuch as convolutional nets, recurrent nets, autoencoders and adversarial networksas well as on the methods of probabilistic graphical models.

Affiliated Faculty

Varun Chandola

Varun Chandola

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

213 Capen Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4747

Email: chandola@buffalo.edu

Vipin Chaudhary

Vipin Chaudhary

Professor, SUNY Empire Innovation

Computer Science and Engineering

305 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4740

Email: vipin@buffalo.edu

Chang Wen Chen

Chang Wen Chen

Professor, SUNY Empire Innovation

Computer Science and Engineering

316 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4760

Email: chencw@buffalo.edu

Changyou Chen

Changyou Chen

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338L Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4750

Email: changyou@buffalo.edu

Jan Chomicki

Jan Chomicki

Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338I Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4735

Email: chomicki@buffalo.edu

Karthik Dantu

Karthik Dantu

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

106 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2670

Email: kdantu@buffalo.edu

Wen Dong

Wen Dong

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

306 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1589

Email: wendong@buffalo.edu

Jing Gao

Jing Gao

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

350 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1586

Email: jing@buffalo.edu

Mingchen Gao

Mingchen Gao

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

347 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2834

Email: mgao8@buffalo.edu

Venu Govindaraju

Venu Govindaraju

Vice President for Research and Economic Development; Founding Director, Center for Unified Biometrics and Sensors (CUBS); Associate Director, Center of Excellence for Document Analysis and Recognition (CEDAR); SUNY Distinguished Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

516 Capen Hall, 113 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3321, (716) 645-1558

Email: venu@cubs.buffalo.edu

Kenny Joseph

Kenny Joseph

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

335 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0682

Email: kjoseph@buffalo.edu

Portrait of Dr. Kevin R. Keane

Kevin R. Keane

Research Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

303 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4766

Email: krkeane@buffalo.edu

Shi Li

Shi Li

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

328 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1590

Email: shil@buffalo.edu

Jingjing Meng

Jingjing Meng

Lecturer; Research Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

304 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0566

Email: jmeng2@buffalo.edu

Nils Napp

Nils Napp

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

332 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4754

Email: nnapp@buffalo.edu

William Rapaport

William J. Rapaport

CSE Eminent Professor Emeritus; Affiliated Associate Professor Emeritus of Linguistics; Affiliated Associate Professor Emeritus of Philosophy

Computer Science and Engineering

Ken Regan

Ken Regan

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

326 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4738

Email: regan@buffalo.edu

Stuart C. Shapiro

Stuart C. Shapiro

Professor Emeritus; Affiliated Professor Emeritus of Linguistics; Affiliated Professor Emeritus of Philosophy

Computer Science and Engineering

327 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4765

Email: shapiro@buffalo.edu

Rohini Srihari

Rohini Srihari

Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338D Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1602

Email: rohini@buffalo.edu

Sargur (Hari) N. Srihari

Sargur (Hari) N. Srihari

Founding Director, Center of Excellence for Document Analysis and Recognition (CEDAR); SUNY Distinguished Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338C Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-6162

Email: srihari@cedar.buffalo.edu

Jennifer Winikus

Jennifer Winikus

Teaching Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

351 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4757

Email: jwinikus@buffalo.edu

Jinhui Xu

Jinhui Xu

Associate Department Chair; Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

315 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4734

Email: jinhui@buffalo.edu

Junsong Yuan

Junsong Yuan

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

338H Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0562

Email: jsyuan@buffalo.edu

Aidong Zhang

Aidong Zhang

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

349 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4769

Email: azhang@buffalo.edu

Jaroslaw (Jaric) Zola

Jaroslaw (Jaric) Zola

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

209 Capen Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3187

Email: jzola@buffalo.edu

Research Groups

Collections