Five UB grad students' design for a custom-fit shoe earned the top spot in the international competition in Singapore.

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Marco Gaboardi for winning his first NSF grant. The award is for Dr. Gaboardi's project titled, "TWC: Large: Collaborative: Computing Over Distributed Sensitive Data", a joint collaboration with Harvard University. The award is expected to total $527,867 over four years.
CSE will present four papers at the 33rd International Conference on Machine Learning (ICML 2016)  in NYC in June. The ICML program committee accepted only 322 of 1,327 submissions.
Congratulations to Assistant Professor Lu Su for winning his first NSF grant. The award is an NSF CRII award for Dr. Su's project titled, "CRII: NeTS: Building Quality-of-Information Aware Distributed Sensing Systems". The award is expected to total $175,000.
ACM SIGMOD/PODS awarded its 2016 Best Paper Award to "FAQ: Questions Asked Frequently', written by Professor Hung Ngo, Associate Professor Atri Rudra, and Mahmoud Abo Khamis (PhD '16).
Congratulations to Assistant Professor Shi Li for winning his first NSF grant. The award is an NSF CRII award for Dr. Li's project titled, "CRII: AF: On Designing Approximation Algorithms Based on Round-or-Cut Paradigm". The award is expected to total $174,990.
SUNY Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Engineering Venu Govindaraju is named VP for Research and Economic Development.  Dr. Govindaraju has served in the position as Interim VP since September 2014.

The computer scientist was recognized for his “for contributions to security and privacy in cloud computing and wireless networks.”

Professor Chang Wen Chen as been elected IEEE Circuits and Systems Society VP of Finance for calendar year 2016. Congratulations, Dr. Chen!

The honor is given to researchers who have created outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.