Ten SEAS faculty are among those who were honored for notable achievement, service and teaching.

Assistant Professor Steve Ko and colleague Mohammad Husain (Cal Poly, Pomona) won a $130K NSF Division of Graduate Education (DGE) award for their project titled, "EAGER: Collaborative Research: S^2 Lab: Educational Platform and Resource for Smartphone Security."
Assistant Professor Shi Li has a paper in each of the top three theory/algorithms conferences in 2016: STOC 2016, FOCS 2016, and SODA 2016.
Assistant Professors Steve Ko and Karthik Dantu won a $472K NSF Computer and Network Systems (CNS)  award for their project titled, "CSR: Small: Project T: Enabling Open Innovation in Mobile Platforms through API Virtualization."
Professor Shambhu Upadhyaya and Hayreddin Ceker (PhD Candidate '17) received the Best Poster Award at the 8th IEEE International Conference on Biometrics: Theory, Applications, and Systems (BTAS), Niagara Falls, NY, September 6th - 9th 2016.
A team led by SUNY Distinguished Professor Aidong Zhang won the Best Paper Award at the 2016 IEEE/ACM International Conference on Advances in Social Networks Analysis and Mining (ASONAM 2016), San Francisco, CA, August 18-21, 2016.
VP for Research and Economic Development Venu Govindaraju, leading an all-UB research team, has won a NSF Data Infrastructure Building Blocks (DIBBs)  award valued at almost $3M over four years.
Jaric Zola and Tevfik Kosar have won a UB IMPACT award that will provide seed funding for their project titled, 'OneBioStore: Distributed smart storage and scalable algorithms for collaborative biomedical discovery'.
Oliver Kennedy, Geoff Challen, and Luke Ziarek received an NSF planning grant for their project titled, "CI-P: Planning for a Community Infrastructure to Enable Pocket-Scale Data Management Research."
Assistant Professors Oliver Kennedy and Luke Ziarek won an NSF SMALL Award ($494k) for their work on Just-in-Time Data Structures. This funding will support Saurav Singhi (PhD Candidate) and an as-yet unknown PhD student who will start a year from now.