Three of the eight UB faculty members to be named recipients of the 2017 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence are part of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences.
Chunming Qiao was one of three University at Buffalo faculty members to be named a State University of New York Distinguished Professor, the highest faculty rank in the SUNY system.

The CISTC Technical Recognition Award is given annually to recognize a IEEE Communications Society member who has made outstanding contributions to the technological advancement of security.

Oliver Kennedy, Niccolo' Meneghetti (PhD '16), and XXX XXX (CMU) will attend SIGMOD 2017 to present their paper titled, "Beta Probabilistic Databases: A Scalable Approach to Belief Updating and Parameter Learning".
SUNY Distinguished Professor Aidong Zhang has been appointed editor in chief of the IEEE/ACM Transactions on Computational Biology and Bioinformatics (TCBB).  The appointment follows an international recruitment search.

Ten SEAS faculty are among those who were honored for notable achievement, service and teaching.

Assistant Professor Steve Ko and colleague Mohammad Husain (Cal Poly, Pomona) won a $130K NSF Division of Graduate Education (DGE) award for their project titled, "EAGER: Collaborative Research: S^2 Lab: Educational Platform and Resource for Smartphone Security."
Assistant Professor Shi Li has a paper in each of the top three theory/algorithms conferences in 2016: STOC 2016, FOCS 2016, and SODA 2016.
Assistant Professors Steve Ko and Karthik Dantu won a $472K NSF Computer and Network Systems (CNS)  award for their project titled, "CSR: Small: Project T: Enabling Open Innovation in Mobile Platforms through API Virtualization."